When selling a car in Oregon, you’ll need to provide certain documents to the buyer so they can have the car transferred to their name. This page outlines all the documents you need to ensure a successful and worry-free transaction.
If you need help with the initial process of selling your car, see our helpful guide.
How to Sell a Car in Oregon
To complete the sale with a buyer, you’ll need to complete some documentation and also notify the OR Driver and Motor Vehicle Services Division (DMV).
- Certificate of title: You will need to sign off on the vehicle’s certificate of title and give it to the buyer. If there are other owners listed on the front of the title, they must also provide a signature. The buyer must sign it too in the designated spot. (Older titles might have you sign as the “registered owner” versus the “new owner,” rather than as the “seller” and the “buyer.”)
- Odometer disclosure: Using either the appropriate space on the back of the title certificate or a Secure Odometer Disclosure (Form 735-403). You will need to call the Oregon Auto Dealers Association (OADA) at (503) 233-5044 to request this form, as you cannot request it from the DMV..
- This disclosure is not required for certain vehicles, including cars manufactured without an odometer or vehicles that are 10 years old or older when the DMV receives the application for title. Check out the full list of exempt vehicles at the DMV website.
- Make and model of the car.
- Sale date.
- Buyer’s details.
You, as the seller, must notify the Oregon DMV of the sale within 10 days of the transfer of ownership. You can either do this online or by mail (see “Notice of Vehicle Sale in Oregon” below).
Notice of Vehicle Sale in Oregon
Once you’ve sold your car, you need to inform the Oregon DMV so you’re not liable for any charges associated with the vehicle in the future. The buyer will take care of registering and titling the car in their own name.
You can notify the OR Driver and Motor Vehicle Services Division either by mail or online.
By mail: Send a completed Notice of Sale or Transfer of a Vehicle (Form 735-6890) to:
- Buyer name and address.
- Selling price.
- Date of sale.
- Odometer reading.
- Buyer’s signature.
- Your signature.
- Date of transfer
- Buyer printed name
- Buyer address
- Odometer disclosure
- Seller printed name and signature
- Bill of Sale (Form 735-501)
- Statement of Lien Satisfaction (Form 735-524), if applicable
- Inheritance Affidavit (Form 735-516), if applicable (Letter of Testamentary if estate is probated)
- Title transfer fees – $98 to $187
- Late fees if more than 30 days after the sale
- $25 if 31 to 60 days late
- $50 if 61 days or more
- Complete the title reassignment on the back of the certificate
- Apply for a new title
1905 Lana Avenue NE
Salem, OR 97314
Lost or Stolen OR Certificate of Title
If the title certificate for the vehicle you’re selling in Oregon is lost, damaged, or destroyed, you can request a duplicate from the OR DMV. To do so, you’ll complete the Application for Replacement Title (Form 735-515) and submit it to the Oregon DMV.
Every official owner of the vehicle has to sign the application. You will also need to pay a $98 to $187 fee for a replacement title.
When you’re selling a car, it’s always better to do it yourself—because you’ll get a lot more money than trading or selling it to a dealer.
It can be a little hard to know where to start, and laws are different in each state, so we’ve created this guide to make it easy to understand what you need to do if you’re selling a car in Oregon.
Here’s what you need:
Certificate of title – also known as the “pink slip.” It’s the certificate that proves you own the car.
Odometer disclosure – there’s a space for this on the back of the certificate of title, or you can request a Secure Odometer Disclosure Form (form 735-403) from the Oregon Auto Dealers Association (OADA) at (800) 766-6232. The form isn’t required for cars that are 10 or more years old when DMV receives the application for title.
Notify the DMV within 10 days – Do this by mailing a completed Notice of Transfer or Sale of a vehicle form (form 735-6890) to the DMV at:
1905 Lana Avenue NE
Salem, OR 97314
It’s up to you whether you want to transfer the plates to the new owner, or keep them (to transfer to your next car.) If you don’t choose to do either of those things, the state requires that you destroy the plates.
Other things to consider
You’ll want to be extra careful when you’re filling out the title—or any other DMV-issued documents—because any errors or scratch-outs will mean you have to fill out a lot of additional paperwork.
Also keep in mind that the title—even though it’s just a piece of paper—is extremely important. If it’s stolen, someone could sign ownership of your car over to themselves or someone else. It’s a good idea to keep it in a safe place—not with you or in the car—until you’re absolutely ready to sign ownership of the car over to your buyer.
If you and the seller don’t go to the DMV together to formally file the paperwork, take pictures of the signed title, so that you have a record of it. It’s also a good idea to submit the Notice of Transfer or Sale online, rather than mailing it, to prevent it from getting lost. Simply print the confirmation when you’re done, so you have proof that you filed the transfer.
Getting ready to sell your car
Aside from the documentation and transfer process required by the state, there are some other things that can be helpful to consider when you’re preparing to sell your car—things that can help you be more informed and help you sell your car more quickly.
One of the first things to consider when you decide to list your car for sale is how much to ask for it. This guide covers some of the important factors you’ll want to consider for pricing, as well as some things you can do to make your car most appealing to buyers.
If you decide you want more help with selling a used car in Oregon, you can also consider using a service such as TRED. When you use TRED to sell a car, you have full support from start to finish, you can sell for your car for an average of 30% more than you would get for it from a dealer, and you never have to set foot in the DMV—among many other benefits. TRED can also help you sell your leased or financed car!
Oregon has state-specific rules for selling a used car. This guide will help make the process easy.
Step 1 – Gather Documents
Certificate of Title
Complete the title transfer section on the back of the title.
You can’t sell a car in Oregon if there’s a lien on the title. Pay off any loan before you sell.
Bill of Sale
Oregon doesn’t require a bill of sale. It’s still a good idea to give one to the buyer and keep a copy. It could help if any tax or legal issues come up.
When you sell with PrivateAuto, you get an electronic bill of sale and state-specific documents you need. You can fill them out and sign right in the app.
Vehicle History Report
Show your customer that you’re a trustworthy seller. A vehicle history report can show your car’s true value. PrivateAuto recommends AutoCheck, the best value for the money.
Step 2 – Arrange a Test Drive
Skip the eternal back-and-forth texts and phone calls when planning a test drive. Use PrivateAuto’s test drive scheduler.
Just choose a place to meet your buyer and select days and times you’re available.
Step 3 – Complete the Sale
Remove the license plates before concluding the sale.
Use The Oregon DMV2U website to report the sale within 10 days. The buyer will need to apply for a new title and register the car.
PrivateAuto makes it easy to sell your car to a private party. You get dealer-like services without the dealer.
If selling your vehicle has not been quick or easy, consider Oregon Roads.
For your convenience we keep it simple.
Come in for a 5 Minute Appraisal
We’ll look it over
We’ll discuss the vehicles value with you
You think it over
Vehicle sales are complex transactions and retail dealers can be frustrating. Oregon Roads is an independent agency. We hope to make a friend with every transaction. Has your vehicle been mechanically inspected and detailed? This is expected in order to sell it at retail value. Are you familiar with the processes at the DMV? Failure to promptly re-register is a liability. Do you hold a title or is there a loan payoff? Loan payoffs can take up to a month to receive the title. Are you comfortable having your personal information handed off to the new owner? Your name, address and personal data are on the title and in the vehicle’s electronic memory. How do you protect your identity? Most buyers need financing and usually have a trade-in, which drives them to dealers. Is your schedule flexible so you can meet strangers to show them your vehicle? These are all items that you need to deal with, or we can do it professionally for you.
When you work with Oregon Roads, you work with a reputable and reliable agency. Time is money and we won’t waste yours.
Oregon State residents have several options when it comes time to sell a car. Many people have old cars sitting around on their property that aren’t worth fixing or selling to the public. It can often seem like a big hassle to hire a company to remove the car to a junkyard. There are actually a number of good companies that offer free car removal to get cars that don’t run off your property. These junk car removal companies can send someone out for free to remove the junk car and free up space on the property or in the garage. The best car removal companies will hire a towing company to remove the car and then pay the owner an agreed upon amount, depending on the type of vehicle. This is the best way to get rid of junk cars sitting around the property because it actually gets some money out of the car with absolutely no work on the part of the owner. Always use a reputable junk car removal company to get the best possible quote while junking a car. Complete the Request A Quote form or call Donation Line toll free at 1-877-227-7487 for a quote. Donation Line LLC purchases cars all over Oregon, including Portland, Salem, Eugene and all surrounding areas.
Offering cash for junk cars, Donation Line buyers afford car owners the opportunity to get rid of an old car without the hassle of advertising the car in the sell car ads, sifting through a pool of potential buyers — if anyone is interested in purchasing the vehicle at all, that is — and then haggling over the vehicle’s price. That’s a lot of hassle just to sell a car. Offering vehicle pick-up over and above cash for junk cars, Donation Line buyers provide Oregonians with an all too necessary convenience. Whether in the big cities or rural areas, Oregonians don’t have time to try to get the car from Point A to Point B. Junk cars might not be a hot ticket to the average used-car buyer, but they are to online junk car buyers.
Over and above the convenience of receiving cash and pick-up for junk cars, Donation Line buyers have the knowledge it takes to ensure the proper transfer paperwork is completed and filed with the Oregon State Department of Motor Vehicles. When selling an old car to a person answering a sell car ad, the vehicle’s seller might not have 100 percent confidence that the car’s new owner will follow through with the proper DMV filings to complete the transfer of ownership. Imagine the new owner wrecking the car in an accident with the vehicle’s title in your name still. That could be extremely detrimental to your DMV record, not to mention the potential lawsuits resulting from the crash. Donation Line buyers have a business to consider, are insured and would be foolish not to complete the vehicle title transfer. This is comforting if you’ve just asked yourself, “I need to sell my car, but whom can I trust to buy it?” Donation Line is going to make sure everything is on the up-and-up with the DMV.
Perhaps you’ve said, “I need to sell my car, but this piece of junk isn’t worth anything!” Right? Wrong! Donation Line offers cash for junk cars, Oregon state residents. Therefore, you will get a cash return to get rid of that old bucket of bolts, and it will be hauled off to boot! Donation Line understands that the junk cars Oregon State frowns upon when it comes to disposal time have a purpose for parts, mechanical and auto body training school, and so on. Therefore, Donation Line does not hesitate to pay cash for junk cars, Oregon and nationwide.
If it’s time to sell a car, and the car isn’t the best piece of machinery on the road, Donation Line is a fantastic way to go. They offer cash for the junked vehicle, and they pick up and haul off the junk cars Oregon State does not want parked around. Take a moment to consider this option if you’ve realized, “it’s time to sell my car.” The convenience of vehicle disposal, the confidence that everything will be taken care of at the DMV and the extra money in the pocket make it worth the while.
– find information from the Oregon DMV on vehicle registration renewals, drivers license online services and title information. – Information you need to report the sale or transfer of your vehicle. – This website discusses the environmental and public hazards of junk cars left on property and not properly disposed of. – This humorous, albeit somewhat older, article plays fun at what the community in Ogden, Iowa did years ago to address the problem of junk cars. – Princeton University alumni Sean Friar is a composer who uses junk car parts to make music. This fascinating piece presents an unusual, yet effective, way that a person uses old car parts. – This Lending Tree article discusses what needs to be done to sell a car privately instead of trading it in at the dealer. – Here is a sample Bill of Sale that can be used when selling the junk car to an online junk car buyer.
REQUEST A QUOTE NOW
Can you have a gun in your car in Oregon, if you don’t have a Concealed Handgun License (CHL)? Yes, but there are requirements for transporting a firearm in the interior passenger compartment of a vehicle in Oregon.
Oregon Law On Guns In Cars
Blackletter Oregon law on firearms in vehicles is codified in ORS 166.250. The statute is titled “Unlawful Possession of Firearms” and it covers much more than just firearms in vehicles. But, in relevant part, it reads:
[a] person commits the crime of unlawful possession of a firearm if the person knowingly… [p]ossesses a handgun that is concealed and readily accessible to the person within any vehicle.”
An exception is made for people who have a concealed handgun license under ORS 166.291.
Driving And Keeping A Gun In The Car With An Oregon CHL
Certainly the best and easiest thing to do if you plan on driving in Oregon with a firearm in the car is to get an Oregon Concealed Handgun License (CHL). This allows you to carry a loaded handgun or other firearm in your vehicle and to keep it concealed so as to not attract unwanted attention or alarm. But what if you are ineligible for an Oregon CHL due to a prior criminal conviction or lack of residence in Oregon?
Transporting A Firearm In A Vehicle In Oregon Without A CHL
The easiest thing to do if you want to transport a loaded handgun in Oregon in the interior passenger compartment of a vehicle if you don’t have an Oregon CHL, is to buy a SnapSafe handgun box or something similar. Oregon law specifically requires that you keep your firearm in a locked box. Technically, you could store the firearm in your glove box or a center console, provided that either storage compartment is keyed and the key was removed from the storage container. However, any officer pulling you over for speeding or an equipment violation is probably going to get very nervous and alarmed if you pop open a glove box or center console to get your vehicle registration and proof of insurance, and there is a firearm present. It’d be best practice to keep the firearm separate from vehicle paperwork.
Not only are the SnapSnafe boxes good for transporting firearms in vehicles, but they can also be used for safely storing firearms at home, or for transporting unloaded handguns during air travel (provided that you otherwise comply with all the FAA and TSA rules.
We’ve helped thousands of happy customers sell their cars for cash and sell their trucks for cash throughout the Oregon City area.
Wheelzy’s US based car buyer team members will help you get the most cash for cars in Oregon City, OR.
We know that selling used cars can be frustrating, which is why we’re here to help you get rid of your car – stress-free.
As the best car buyer in Oregon City, we take care of all the title paperwork and even pick up your car anywhere in the surrounding Oregon City, Oregon area for FREE!
Our Oregon City, OR location and trusted car buyer team members will help you get a guaranteed offer to sell your car in Oregon City as quickly as you need to get rid of it. If you’re wondering ‘Can I junk my car in Oregon City with Wheelzy?’, the answer is yes! We buy any cars for cash in the Oregon City, Oregon area, regardless of the condition it’s in. We buy running cars, we buy damaged cars, and we buy cars that are in great condition just taking up space.
Sell my car in Oregon City that won’t start or drive
We buy cars that won’t start up or that won’t drive far with ease; because we come pick up cars anywhere in Oregon City for free and pay you cash for the car on the spot.
Sell my damaged car in Oregon City, Oregon
Wheelzy makes selling wrecked cars as quick and easy as it should be, by paying the max amount of cash for cars and removing the damaged car for free anywhere in Oregon City.
Of the places that buy cars near Oregon City, OR, Wheelzy if the fastest way to sell a car. You can get an offer to get cash for cars instantly whichever way is most convenient for you. Sell a car fast in Oregon City by giving one of our helpful car buyers a call (855) 294-0940 or by getting an online offer right now.
Wondering how to sign your OR title or how to transfer your OR title? We’re not exaggerating when we say that we’re the easiest way to sell a car. Follow the easy steps to with pictures to show you exactly How to Sign Your Title in Oregon.
You need the certificate of title. If it’s lost or damaged, apply for a duplicate title.
Step 1. Check for a Clear Title
If the owner has a car loan, the title will have a lien. The owner needs to pay it off and have the lien holder sign the release of interest on the title.
Step 2. Complete the Title Reassignment Section
The owner needs to sign the title over to the buyer or transferee.
The buyer’s printed name appears again along with the signature.
Step3. Complete and Submit Additional Documents
Other paperwork you need includes:
Step 4. Apply for a New Certificate of Title
Submit the Application for Title and Registration (Form 735-226) to the DMV office.
Step 5. Pay Transfer Fees.
To transfer a certificate of title in Oregon, you need to
You may need other forms, depending on your circumstances.
When you buy or sell a used car with PrivateAuto, you get electronic state-specific documents you can sign straight from the platform.